Steering Panel 2017
The Steering Panel for the Africa Architecture Awards 2017 comprises seven members, including two previous winners from the 2015 Architecture for Social Gain Awards, four practicing African architects (ranging from emerging to well-established), plus an international architect and filmmaker.
The members of the Steering Panel are as follows:
Professor Lesley Lokko (Chairperson)
Luís Urbano
Issa Diabaté
Urko Sánchez
Doreen Adengo
Thomas Chapman
Mphethi Morojele
This Pan-African body is chaired by Professor Lesely Lokko and was assembled at the invitation of the awards founding sponsor, Saint-Gobain. The Steering Panel first met from 24-25 June 2016 in Johannesburg, as part of a week-long festival of architecture.
Since its inception, the role of the Steering Panel has been to define the entry criteria and categories for the awards as well as identify the Master Jury. The Steering Panel’s final duty will be to brief the Master Jury on the judging process in July 2017, at which point the panel members’ term of service will end. They are then eligible for nomination as part of the 2019 Master Jury, but are not eligible to enter the awards.
Here's more information on the individual members of the panel: